Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.Reason: College students—like people in general—prefer to follow directions rat

Courses offered by the college and universities are pivotal in shaping the career of every student. Learning a course with interest makes it both easier for the student to learn and student tries to excel in that course. The author's issue only takes into account a fewer cases neglecting the modern age students who are more independent. These students having the knowledge of what works for them are assiduous in choosing accordingly in this developing world. Due to the exclusion of such major cases and some minor ones, I disagree with the author on his statement.

Although colleges are abreast with the developements of world. Enforcing such curriculum in unessential for a number of reasons. For one, these elective courses can be useful to a student who is totally unaware of the subject. Consider the case of Steve Jobs, during his time in university, he once attended a class on calligraphy which is outside of his pursuing field. This became useful while developing Apple products in imparting the fonts to develop a very exquisite UI. Without this particular innovation Apple would not had ascended any closer to what it is today.

Similarly, a student would like to enroll in an elective course which may be easier to get passed or he may have interest in that particular course. Removing such courses altogether would make students to enroll the subjects from their field of study. This may lead to extra stress thereby making it hard to complete the courses. No one would know which type of knowledge would be useful in future. Apart from this, these elective courses sometimes are useful in educating the basic societal or environmental knowledge which is very useful for a graduate living in that society. Such electives may includes

global warming, sex education etc.,

Although such is the case, there are some predicaments in enforcing elective courses. Mandating a elective course might put extra burden in the form to tuition fee, student time and sometimes extra stay in the college. The reason that author mentioned is flawed on the contention that students who do not prefer electives may not have any clarity on his career or may feared of the choice going wrong way. But with each generation of students, are becoming more independent.

Therfore, elective courses are to be included in the college or university curriculum which brings value to a student's career - in unintended ways. Removing such courses may benefit in rare cases but the value it brings might be immense.