Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? There is nothing that young people can teach older people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your position

Right from childhood every person accumulates different types of experiences of the world they are living in. Through these experiences, people mold their views to survive in every society. Till the dawn of 21st century, the technological development was slow and most of people had not experienced striking change in their life time. Elders had gone through their life without a significant change in the society. But the trend has changed recently because of rapid technological revolutions in every field. In my view, I feel that elders of the late 20th century should adapt to these changes and this could be possible only with the help of young people. I will provide two reasons in support of this and elaborate on, in the following paragraphs.

First of all, when we consider the field of medicine, and its new advancements, that young people could teach their parents as well as other elders in rural areas. We all know that new advancements in medicine reach out to these areas very slowly. Most of the adults do not bother about knowing new developments. So, in this case young people, mostly students, substantially has a lot to contribute to elder people living in such areas. Students might acquire the information through schools then in turn help disseminate this information. This could help older people change their frequently performed rites in curbing certain diseases. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. During my childhood, we used to live in a small village in the countryside. At that point of time prevention for polio disease in the form of drops was introduced. Although government took measures to spread this news to whole district not one in my neighbourhood knew about the prevention. My cousin, 10 years older than me, had known about it and told my father along with other people in the village. Though this news would have been eventually kwown by people but it came into attention a lot earlier by a young person.

Secondly, most of the adults have experiences of the world of their time. But in recent times, this world has undergone many rapid changes. We can also say that the rate of change has been exponential when we compare the recent past i.e., from the last 100 years. In other words, there are many significant changes that have been incorporated into this world from generation to generation. Similarly, these adults hold an age old outdated view of the world. This might not help in the fast-than-ever changing digital world. In order to live content, elders have to learn to adapt to fit into this paradigm.

In conclusion, although some experiences of adults may fare well in this world but it has become mandatory that every person has to change his view of the present and this can be easier with the help of the young people.