Some people believe that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Others believe that universities should not force students to take any courses other than those t

In any field of study, courses offered by the universities plays a crucial role in the career of the student. We also know that courses are the basis for differentiating the standards of the universities relatively. One of many reasons based on which a student prefers a college is its course curriculum. But many universities include unnecessary courses which cost the students their time and money. Thus, to judge this issue one needs to subsume a lot of factors and their impact on students' valuable career. Students taking courses which have no use in the future is an utter waste of their precious time. Instead, this time could be utilized wisely. To make this view clear, we have to cogitate on each factor and its influence on students career one by one.

First and the fore most factor - involving a variety of courses - impedes the student in many ways. For one, for a computer science student taking a course on English literature is of no use in future. To complete this course, student should spend hours on this course where a student could spend this time on other course which imparts some value to his career. Also, this student should complete the tedious assignments with reluctance. Taking more courses implies more time in university which burdens a student to pay more tuition fee. Such are the consequences to get enrolled in a diverse curriculum.

Secondly, students from middle or low income backgrounds cannot afford such huge costs that subsequently comes with such course. This becomes worse when augmented when a student fails to pass that particular course which does not have any impact on his career. This in turn requires the student to pay more fee, spend more time to pass the failed subject. Such students suffer the consequences of taking part in the society much late than they expected.

This varied course curriculum can also be useful in a student's future. For example, Steve Jobs the ex-CEO of Apple Company, even though his field is computer technology he once participated in a lecture on calligraphy. At that time of participation Jobs did not realize the value of that subject. But in future while developing the MAC he infused the laptop software with the knowledge of calligraphy, thereby making it more user-friendly, is a game changer.But such cases occur with a infinitesimal probability.

Therefore, varied courses in a curriculum has a impeding consequences on student's career. This can also be alleviated by employing a system where student can take courses based on his choices but requires one to have exposure to each course and their impact beforehand.