Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

Advertising a product is universal. We can see this in any part of the world and even throughout history. Apart from saying that endorsing contributes to the growth of the economy, it mainly constitutes on fooling the relatively less rational people. I personally think that advertisers put high efforts in exaggerating the product in the minds of the people. I feel this way for three reasons which I will elaborate on in the following paragraphs.

First of all, persuasion is the ultimate goal of advertisers. Advertisements are made in such a way solely to gain the attention of the people. Consequently, attention leads to dwelling on the product, sometimes even contemplating. Half of the burden is accomplished by the marketing companies, by tapping into the people's attention, and the rest half of making the person buy the product remains. However, research says that these advertisers mainly target one's ego, in a paper named Detox You Ego published by Roland Griffiths in 2014. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. About an year ago, my sister saw an advertisement on the television about a facial cream. The advertisement shows that girls's face tone becomes more brighter after habitually applying the cream for 15 days. Seeing this she felt that would make her more prettier. This is exaclty what the above mentioned citation elucidates. Although she used the cream for 2 months, the cream had not made her facial tone become brighter.

Secondly, there is another interesting way to prove my point here. Hiding a product's flaw can be considered as rendering it seem better. While this thought is counterintuitive, this also has some merit. In other words, advertisements only highlight the positives of a product's usage concealing its negatives altogether. Most of the times, people watching these adverts are made to think only about the advantages, making them neglect the disadvantages subliminally. For example, a phone company rolls out a new smartphone with 8Gb RAM, indirectly portraying smartphones with 4Gb RAM as outdated. Though an average consumer cannot experience a significant change in the speed of the phone but still thinks his own phone is effete, buys a new smartphone. If a person requires 10 apples to satisfy his hunger, he should not buy 20 or 30 apples only for the sake of more apples.

Finally, research also suggests that advertisements have a profound effect on people subliminally. Similarly, these thoughts span the dream of a normal healthy individual as well, trying to cultivate thoughts by concentrating the improvement in one's life by using the product. Every person in this world, at least one time or other, would have had brought any product to make him happy, even though not much useful.

In conclusion, our world runs on these endorsements. The more the effect on the minds of populace, the higher the product sales. To increase the sales, advertisers use the laws of persuasion, filling the moral gaps of the insecured people and by highlighting the product's features. It is up to us whether to act rationally in buying a product or to rather

get trapped in the false positives of the products.