Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

History gathers changes from every society into it. In other words, history tells us about the people in any period of time and also their culture, their inventions and influences. This recorded information imbues us with huge insight about the contemporary world. It comprises progress of previous generations, in detail, that might help mankind to progress forward. In my view, I think history should include, not only about medieval kings, geographic landscapes but also recent information since the dawn of electronic boom. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will elaborate on in the following paragraphs.

First of all, every student studying has to imbibe at least a part of history which is relevant to his field. Although fields like archaeology includes its historical progress, fields like computer science should also include information regarding its birth and growth till date. Likewise, every architect should have the knowledge of prior construction and its relation with cultures, over the course of history. Seeing from this perspective, every field, however new, might have sprung from a field with some earlier work. This work can be included as course in the curriculum. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. During my college, a lecturer of one of my computer science courses, had told us about the birth of computers and its progress till date. This had increased interest in many, motivating them to study more. Similarly, it would be helpful for entrepreneurs to know about the recent changes in laws and regulations that are endowed on technological companies.

Secondly, studying history in detail might provide great insights. For instance, a start up founder having the knowledge of how all prior start ups have been faring in the industry might succeed better. Although the conditions are not same, as they change with time, but knowing such things helps one to plan for a better future. The person might predict the future predicaments, be ready with a plan to tackle them and progress forward. All these information, if included in a course, might ingrain students with technical as well as practical knowledge. Inclusion of such courses also does not impose any cost burden on the university. Because teaching the history does not require a lot of expertise, any teacher with authentic information can be able to teach such courses.

In conclusion, some might think inclusion of such courses might be a burden imposed on students additionally, but in reality, the opposite is true. Learning history, particularly about a field, might increase motivation causing them to do well to improve their knowledge.