Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

history is replete with events that have affected our status quo. In this regard, there is a long-standing discussion among academicians about it is necessary that students, except for history majors, pass history courses or not. some academicians believe that there is not enough time to be assigned to miscellaneous fields such as history. others, on the other hand, advocate the idea that the whole students should be familiar with history for some reasons. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most important reasons.

To begin with, students should not to be one-dimensional men. they have to know about different scientific fields such as history, art, sport, and geography, to name but a few. By doing so, their general knowledge increases and they not only can declare their opinion in their specialized knowledge, but also they can express their points of view in different matters. if student learn the history of their country, they can make new friends who are specialist in history. Therefore, they can discuss historical events and their implications on the current age. For example, I had a course about starting islamic era in iran, my country. I became captivated by the truth of the events occurred in this period which was very puzzling. I found somebody whose major was history of islam. I speak with her for many hours and became familiar with her perspective. having explored the issue for a long time, I came to understand the truth which has a significant impact on my beliefs.

Secondly, if students review the history of their country, they can find many traditions and events that are worthy of respect and commemoration. knowing old cultures and promoting the best ones make a society a better place to live. we, for example, have had a tradition in iran since hundreds years ago which is celebration of the longest night of year, called "Yalda night". this tradition leads to allocating a specific time to family and relatives and enjoy family members’ company such as grandfather, grandmother, aunt, and uncles, to name but a few, regardless our hectic lifestyle. Hence, should our future descendants admire this tradition as we maintain it, they can enjoy the longest night in company with their loved individuals rather than being alone.

To sum up, I really believe that universities have not to limit courses to students' field of study. this is because they might believe some things erroneously affect their religious views and as time passes, some beautiful tradition might disappear.