The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but the general well-being of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A nation's greatness does not reflect on someone's personal achievement who belong to that nation rather it reflects on the average condition of the whole population. Understanding this fact, I strongly agree with the author's assertion relating to the nation's greatness. Undoubtedly, the extraordinary achievements of a nation's leaders, scientists and artists give us a hint of prosperity and development of that nation but it does not necessarily make it a great nation.

First, consider the goal of government. People elect their leaders in a democratic nation and those leaders constitute the government. The primary tasks of a government is to achieve and maintain strong economy, ensure education and other basic needs of the mass people, ensure law enforcement and thus keep a safe and sound environment for each individual. If a government achieve this, only then we can address that as a successful one.On the other hand, if a dictator is exalted to a godly position by his followers and the biased media, that does not make a nation great.

Every year many countries spend billions of dollars in research. This research helps the human race to know the unknown, make "impossible" possible. All of its greatness ultimately depends on whether the knowledge can help to the well being of people. Every year noble prize on peace does not means much if we can not stop the war happening for years in different parts of the world. Countries like India, Pakistan making missiles, sending satellites which are impressive but these achievements tarnish when we found out about the millions of people of these nations who are suffering for malnutrition, not access to healthy food, safe water and proper sanitation.

In sum, a nation becomes great when the people of that nation have a high standard of living with proper law enforcement, strong economy, cooperative environment etc which indicates the overall peace. General well being of the mass people should be the ultimate goal of Government, education and business institutions, scientific research, religion, arts and all other institutions.