The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is not a easy to task to examine the character of people of a society accurately and according to the author of the passage, the best way to do this is to know about their role models. Undoubtedly, anyone can argue that there are numerous factors that affects the character of people and other numerous aspects to consider before coming to a conclusion about that. Considering this difficulties, I agree with author's assertion that to grab a superficial idea about the mass character of the people, it is ideal to examine their role models.

One needs to examine a significant portion of total people in a society in order to grab an overall idea about their character as a whole. Besides, it is also important to examine them in different aspect and this is almost an infinite task to accomplish without costing great effort and time. Undoubtedly, this is not the best approach to learn that.

First, we can predict the future of a society by knowing about their youth. Though it is not possible to learn each and every individual, but it is easy to find whom they are considering as role models. We often notice in certain societies youths have a tendency to follow the movie celebrities- their dress, hair style and gesture. Sometimes they try to mimic sports stars. This reveals their interest and that often help to judge their character as a whole. It is not surprising when a certain group chooses discoverer like Bear Grills, scientists like Einstein, Marie Curie as their hero and this gave us a total different hint about that group.

Additionally, politicians have one of the highest impact on life of a society. When a society choose their great political leader as their hero it indicates they are aware of politics and they appreciate the effort of there great leaders. That definitely defines certain aspect of their character.

In sum, it is quite impossible to have a very precise understanding about the character of a society without extensively examining the people belong to this. While this is a arduous and time consuming to examine a lot of people individually whereas society is changing continuously. Understanding this reality, it is a smarter way just to keep a tract whom they are choosing as their role model in certain society and this concise information mostly gives us a big hint about the society as a whole.