The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president of a food distribution company recommends to switch back to Buzzoff pest Control Company for all of their pest control services in order to save money, despite the fact that Fly-Away Pest Control Company offers cheaper services. To support his claim, he cites that their company lost $20000 worth food due to pest damage in one of their fast-food warehouses where they were receiving services from Fly-Away company. On the other hand, they lost $10000 worth in another warehouse where they are receiving services from Buzzoff. However, scrutiny of this evidence reveals that this lends a little credible support for vice president's assumption.

First, the author mentioned that they signed the contract in last year with Fly-Away company and he only points out the pest damage for last year at Palm City. He did not present any hints about the past years damages. Same goes for the second warehouse. There is no indication about the pest damage in previous years other than last year. Without this information it is impossible to measure the trend of amount of pest damage.

Secondly, the author have not implied the capacity and amount of stored food of both warehouses and the types of food in Wintervale warehouse. It is possible that in Palm City warehouse they usually stores much more food than in Wintervale. This missing quantitative data makes the argument unconvincing.

Thirdly, author overlooked relative comparison between the type and severity of pest in two different places. Even if we consider for the sake of argument that, this both warehouses are of same capacity and having similar quantity of fast food Palm City might be more prone to pest because of climate and geographical condition. Since no relative data is present, for instance food damage of the other companies due to pest for different companies.

Finally, author fail to mention the total service change of both companies from which one could calculate the saving from services of this two pest control companies.

In sum, the vice president's argument is unpersuasive in the sense that he failed to present significant information regarding the quantity of food in the different warehouses. To bolster his conclusion he should also identify the reasons behind the pest damages and other qualitative analysis between this two warehouses.