The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

In this argument, the author claims that it is better to choose buzzoff pest control company to provide pest control services for the sake of saving money. To support this conclusion, the author points out that the food value destroyed in plam city is higher than wintervale. it is easy to understand why the food distribution company choose buzzoff, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

Firstly, the author assumes that all other conditions that might affect pest damage will remain unchanged in the future without significant evidence. On the one hand, there is no denying that the one-month evaluation is too short to determine the total capacity of a company. On the other hand, though the Fly-Away company indeed did worse than buzzoff in the past one month, there was no evidence to assert that it would not surpass buzzoff in the future. The Fly-Away company might spend more time on staff training so as to improve and perfect their service. also, more advanced equipment might be used in the future. without considering and ruling out these possible changes that might contribute to pest control result, the author can not convince me that the proposed measure will necessarily have the desired effect.

besides, another piece of evidence that might help us evaluate this claim is the statistical reliability of the survey. there is no comparison between the $20,000 and $10,000 food lost to see which warehouse loss more under the protection of two different pest control company. The author provides no evidence if there are different total values of the two warehouses. besides, the numbers lack the destroyed food’s quantities and scopes. moreover, there is no analysis of the future profit margin of the destroyed food. Thus, according to the two single numbers, we can not say buzzoff company helps to save more money than Fly-Away company.

moreover, even though the warehouse in Palm city loses more, the mere fact that the various lost degrees occurred before the companies’ different pest-control ability does not suffice to prove that Fly-Away company’s weaker capacity caused worse food situation. perhaps the true cause was the lower temperature in wintervale killed most of the pest, while pest in warmer plam city stayed actively. Or perhaps the warehouse in wintervale was newer with developed facilities to protect food, while the one in plam city was older with just fundamental facilities. Certainly, the different pest types, quantities and survive abilities under pesticide are all possible reasons for the loss. In short, a concrete connection between pest-control companies and warehouse’s loss is not effectively made.

Last but not least, a piece of lacking evidence with the argument is that the author assumes wintervale is representative of all cities in country. it is entirely possible that buzzoff company does not have enough capacity, likes open branch offices and hire more employees to provide service in other cities. Or perhaps buzzoff lack the knowledge of various pest genre outside wintervale. it is also critical to know that except buzzoff, there exist a large number of well-prepared pest-control companies in cities. Each city has the chance to choose a company according to own situation. without accounting for such possibilities, the author can not convince me that the food distribution company should cooperate with buzzoff for all their services.

In sum, the argument is not strong enough to convince me. before I can accept it, the author must supply clearer evidence that the influencing factors of pest damage remain unchanged, the money lost in two cities are under the same circumstances, there is no other reasons responsible for the pest damage in two cities and buzzoff company is strong enough to control pest in various cities.