The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

It seems the author that the warehouse in Palm City and Wintervale could be comparable, and last month the value of food destroyed by pest damage in Palm City was larger than in Wintervale, so the author suggests the service provided by Buzzoff Pest Control Company is the best choice. However, several assumptions in the argument need to be addressed to make the claim more convincing.

An assumption here is that the environments for the warehouse in Palm City and Wintervale are the same. Nevertheless, the author fails to consider some possible differences between Palm City and Wintervale that might help to bring about a different result. For example, if the warehouse in Palm City has a humid environment, and that in Wintervale is dry, the potential losses from pest damage for Palm City is larger than Wintervale. In order to compare two companies in science, the author needs to ask Buzzoff Pest Control Company to set a warehouse in Palm City or Fly-Away Pest Control Company to set a warehouse in Wintervale so as to determine which one do better in pest control.

The author claims that last month $20000 worth of food lost in Palm City and $10000 worth of food lost in Wintervale. Nonetheless, what is the exact total value of all food, one hundred thousand dollars, a million dollars, or a billion dollars? It does not mention the base number of whole food in each place, nor tell us how much percentage value of the food destroyed by pest damage accounted for in the total value. For example, if $20000 worth of food lost in Palm City only accounted for 1% of the total food, and $10000 worth of food lost in Wintervale accounted for 20% of the total food, then we cannot conclude that Buzzoff Pest Control Company is better than Fly-Away Pest Control Company. At least the author needs to provide the percentage data so as to help us determine which one do better in pest control.

Even assuming that the percentage of lost in Palm City was larger than in Wintervale, data provided by only a month is insufficient for us to make a conclusion. For example, maybe last month was a hot season. If Fly-Away Pest Control Company is good at pest control in winter, not in summer, and in contrast, Buzzoff Pest Control Company is good at pest control in summer, not in winter, the latter has higher probabilities to do better than the former. Therefore, the author needs to provide the whole year data so as to decide which one has the huger lost.

In conclusion, the author needs to address the assumptions as above mentioned to strengthen the argument, including the background environment, the percentage of the lost, and the whole year data.