The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy

Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House

restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2

percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100

are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that

a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are

given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish

butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or

margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase

profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving

change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations

that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your

explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the

argument.

The business manager recommends that Happy Pancake House restaurants should replace butter by margarine. However, the argument fails to consider the following possible alternative explanation.

The manager claims only 2 percent of customers have complained the change from butter to margarine. Nevertheless, it is probable that the author is optimistic to the investigation. There is a good chance that lots of customers have a tendency to complain the change, but they do not tell the waiters because of wasting time. It still has an alternative explanation that waiters just invested the customers feeling happy in this meal so as to avoid the boss asking them why the customers unsatisfied with the change. Doing investigation does not make the waiters get any profit, so they do not have any motivation to do the best.

In addition, even if the customers in the southwestern United States cannot distinguish butter from margarine, it does not represent that people living in the northeast United States cannot distinguish them. When people living in the northeast taste the food, maybe some of them owning some specific gene combination have the ability to detect the difference between butter and margarine. It may leave a bad impression to them and they will tell their friends and family member not to go to the restaurant because of the change. Therefore, the manager should do the same research on the northeast area for the purpose of making sure that most customers can accept this change.

Besides, even if people living in the southwestern and northeastern United States cannot distinguish the difference and do not show the anger to the restaurant. The dishonest behavior of giving customers the margarine when they ask the butter has a high possibility to bring some law problems. Some of them concern about the restaurant’s honest. When they feel cheated by this change without their permitting, they will indict the company in order to show their anger. Thus, the potential cost of this dishonest behavior needs to be considered. It may make the profits from cost-saving change disappear.

The claim is not convincing without ruling out the alternative explanations as above mentioned.