The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants throughout the rest of the country."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager of Happy Pancake House concludes that butter should be replaced with margarine across all the country. To support this initiative he presents the results that this change has yielded in the Southwest as evidence. While the argument might seem tenable at first glance, the author makes major assumptions that should be addressed before deciding whether to move forward with the proposal.

First, the manager assumes that 98% of the customers are glad with the change from butter to margarine, because they have not presented a formal complaint. Nevertheless, the author fails to consider other possibilities that may account for the lack of complaints. For example, some customers may be too lazy to fill out all the paperwork required to formally complain. Another plausible explanation is that clients might be unaware of their right to object to this change.

Additionally, the author does not cite specific evidence proving that the reason customers do not complain to waiters is because they do not care whether they get margarine or butter. They might be unhappy with the butter but not say anything to the server because of embarrassment.

Finally, constructing on the manager's assumption that replacing margarine with butter was a good strategy. The fact that something worked in the Southwest does not imply that it will work in the rest of the country. In fact, customers behaviour varies widely across regions.

To sum up, the manager's suggestion of replacing butter with margarine is potentially a beneficial option for Happy Pancake House. However, the author fails to provide conclusive evidence that customers will not miss the butter, and without such evidence stakeholders should be skeptical about the outcome.