The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"Our citizens are well aware of the fact that while the Grandview Symphony Orchestra was struggling to succeed, our city government promised annual funding to help support its programs. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent, and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Such developments indicate that the symphony can now succeed without funding from city government and we can eliminate that expense from next year's budget. Therefore, we recommend that the city of Grandview eliminate its funding for the Grandview Symphony from next year's budget. By doing so, we can prevent a city budget deficit without threatening the success of the symphony."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The budget planner has concluded that the Grandview Symphonic Orchestra does no longer need funding to succeed. To proof this point, the writer presents last year's increase in private contributions and audience as evidence. The author also supports his or her claim with the annoucement of more expensive tickets. At first glance the argument may seem tenable, however, a closer examination reveals that the writer makes major assumptions that should be addressed before deciding whether to remove the funding of the orchestra.

First, the budget planner assumes that an increase in the tickets' price will rise the income of the Symphony. Nevertheless, the author does not speficy by how much the entrance's cost is going to go up, this price change could be very subtle, having almost no significant impact on the money collected.

Furthermore, the memo only mentions data in relation to the previos year. The lack of absolute information makes the argument flawed. For example, the writer claims that private contributions have doubled, but he does not mentioned what the contributions were previously. A 200% increase could mean the donations have increased by only 10 dollars, or it could imply an increase of a 10000 dollars.

Finally, the writer assumes, without citing conclusive evidence, that the attendance to concerts will be high. Nevertheless, he or she does not proof that the audience that went to the park series will go to any other of the orchestra's performance. In fact, the number of concert-goers might go down due to the ticket price increase.

All in all, Grandview's budget planner concludes that removing the symphony's funding will not put its success on peril. The author´s advice is potentially correct, but it is lacking of proper evidence. Thus, city officials should ask for more information regarding private contributions, ticket prices and attendace, before going ahead with the proposal.