The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"Our citizens are well aware of the fact that while the Grandview Symphony Orchestra was struggling to succeed, our city government promised annual funding to help support its programs. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent, and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Such developments indicate that the symphony can now succeed without funding from city government and we can eliminate that expense from next year's budget. Therefore, we recommend that the city of Grandview eliminate its funding for the Grandview Symphony from next year's budget. By doing so, we can prevent a city budget deficit without threatening the success of the symphony."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo recommends that Grandview stops public funding for the city symphony orchestra for next year. The reasoning behind the recommendation is that the symphony should be able to prosper on its own without governmental help. This reason is based on increased private donation, concert attendance, and increasing ticket prices.To examine whether a moratorium of funding is a wise decision, there are several questions to be answered regarding the logic and evidences that lead to such conclusion.

The projected prosperity of the symphony is based partly on the data on increased attendance and private contributions. However, instead of concrete numbers, we are given percentage and doubles. To ascertain whether last year was indeed a good year for the symphony, we must ask what the base numbers are. An increase of 200% means a little if the base number of attendance was 10. Similarly, doubling the contribution of 1 dollar does not offer the much needed financial help to the orchestra. Even if turn out to be indeed huge increase in private contribution and attendance, would this trend continue into the future? Such question is hard to answer based on one data point alone. We'd need to see the trend over years to ascertain whether the symphony is flourishing. And for what we know, the symphony has been struggling for long and a presumably better financial situation only came in place last year. The logical conclusion to be made from there is that the symphony will more likely to be needy in the future.

Another evidence for the predicted prosperity is that the symphony announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Again, we are not given concrete numbers to do any meaningful comparison. How much in dollar amount has the ticket price increased? What was the price before? What are the projected revenue for concerts next year? To have enough revenue to live on their own, the symphony needs not only to increase ticket prices but also ensure a considerable amount of audience. In the contemporary society, more and more people choose more popular pass time, for example commercial movies, than to listen to old-fashioned symphony. In that case, an increase in ticket prices could in fact serve to deter potential audiences.

Given the above consideration, the likely case is that the symphony was in relatively good shape last year because of chance events. However, we did not even know whether the increased private contributions and attendance cover the basic expenditures of the symphony. Did the city provide any funding for the symphony last year? If so, it is more likely than not that the symphony will need further financial assistance in the future as the projected prosperity is based on evidences very questionable.

In conclusion, the city council must not haste to discontinue funding for thee grandview symphony orchestra. To evaluate whether such discontinuation is indeed called for, we must study the trends in the symphony's financial situation by examining changes in private donations and concert revenues in exact dollar amounts. One snapshot from last year's performance is not enough to offset the fact the the symphony was not in good shape financially for the past years. And for the time being, if the goal is to keep the symphony alive, the wiser action is to fund it until there is genuine signs that it could do without government funding.