Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

College and university education is less of a luxury to those in different socio-economic status, thanks to government-funded financial aids. However, it is one thing to offer financial aids to talented students in need of financial help and another to advocate higher education free for all. Thus I disagree with the statement that government should offer college and university education free of charge to all students. Some important disadvantage in this proposition lies in the fund-raising method and its consequences of lowered quality of both the education and the student base.

It is undeniable that universal education is something a society should strive for. Psychological researches had shown that those with higher education make better decisions and study in economics reveal a positive correlation between income and life satisfaction with higher education. It seems so far that free-for-all education will only make our world into an Eden. However, for government to offer this type of education, realistic concerns would render the plan a dead-end.

For one, government-offered programs is another way of saying fund-raising from taxpayers. However, are tax payers willing to pay for this additional education tax? Given how expensive private universities are, those on the lower half of the income spectrum are more likely to be unable to pay for the education tax. And only charging "the rich people", although it sounds reasonable and echoes the spirit of Robin Hood, is simply unrealistic and will make it impossible to pass legislation on such taxes. Simply put, it is better to let something like high education survive primarily in a free market (with a degree of government help like public schools and financial aid) than having the government taking control. We have witnessed the extreme centralization of USSR. It will be unwise if we apply the same method to higher education.

On a related point, problems with funding could lead to lowered quality of education. Only adequate funding could ensure able professors, decent classrooms and softwares for teaching. Given the limited supply of college professors and possible shortage of funds to pay for their tenure, one could reasonably expect a huge drop in teaching quality. For example the teacher to student ratio will plummet like we never see. Many private schools prize themselves for the high teacher to students ratio, and for a good reason: a teacher's limited attention can only be divided between a certain number of students before he/she starts losing track. Universal education, by simply stuffing everyone aged 18 into college, will ensure that teachers cannot focus too much on any single student.

Another factor that could lower the quality of education is student base. In the current systems, students have to work arduously and pass several rounds of examination and perhaps interview to get into one of the best colleges. If the government takes over and removes this filter, it could potentially cause huge problems for all students. It's quite self-evident that teachers should treat all students equally, but some are simply more talented than others. The entrance examinations, among other measures, serve to categorize students and put them into schools that suit both their personality and their learning ability. Imagine putting an aspiring student with someone who attends college because it is free. The turnout is likely to be negative for both students.

In conclusion, as rosy as the free-education-for-all initiative sound, the recommendation should not be adopted, at least when we cannot ensure sufficient funding and quality education for all those who would enroll. The recommendation could have negative repercussions in teaching quality and student quality, both of which hinder learning and would be contradictory to the government's goal. Perhaps more importantly, "free" education is not free on tax payers. How to divide the tax burden and whether such tax legislation will be past remain debatable.