Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take In devel

It would be wonderful if governments would offer free college and university education to all students, however, this is not possible for all governments.

For starters, not all governments can afford to give out free education to students. While the government might be able pay for professors salaries additional resources to run a university like research costs, electricity, or teaching material are costly; therefore, hindering the government from offering free education to every student. Along with that, there are certain governments in the world, like the African government, which can barely provide sufficient food for their people. It would seem preposterous if people were dying of hunger in Africa and the government was offering free education. Of course if the government is wealthy, like the American or Chinese governments, then free university or college education might not be impossible.

Additionally, offering free education to all students is an extreme. It would make sense that governments assist some students, through loans or aids, who are financially incapable of paying their own fees but, paying for students who can pay for themselves is economically devastating as these funds could be put to better use. For example, if a overpopulated country like India were to implement this recommendation then the government debt would increase tremendously and every year the government would suffer major losses financially because of the education sector. However, it would make sense for a less populated country like Singapore, who has a well developed economy and lower population, to give better assist to their students.

While the recommendation is extreme and not feasible for all governments, depending on the circumstances, the recommendation has some merit. Larger and more stable countries like the USA can afford to give free education to their citizens as the citizen pay tax to the country. However, due to globalization every year international students from around the world join American universities for education. If the recommendation were to be implemented these students would also have to be given free education, even though they are not part of the country and pay no tax to the country; which would hurt the country's economy.

As the claim stands, due to its extreme nature and broad perspective, I do not fully agree with the recommendation. There are a multitude of situations which can put many country's governments into crisis if the claim was implemented as it is.