Claim When planning courses educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students Reason Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying Write a response in which you discuss the exte

Student interest is rarely taken into account by educators when planning the courses, however with interest in a course students gain motivation to learn what they are studying. While it sounds like very student's dream to have educators take into account students interest when planning a course so that students will have interest and can have motivation to learn what they study, I think this should not be case. There are many issues that educators can face if they were to follow the aforementioned claim's suggestion.

Highschools around the world have various class sizes which can range from 20 to 200. Therefore, the first point I would like to make is that there is a very low probability that every student in a class is interested in the same course. This could lead to confusion for management and educators. Management would find it difficult in deciding the class size, salary of educators for that class and the budgeting to provide. Educators class size would vary each year based on the number of students who are interested creating difficulty for educators to plan group projects or experiments.

Secondly, the reasoning that students are more motivated to learn courses they are interested in is solid it does not take into account that students are required to learn some subjects as necessary life skills. For instance, students of a class might be interested in learning about History of Video Games over Math. If the educator decided to go with the students’ interest, then the class would lack basic Math skills, they are required to buy groceries, calculate their finances and live a stable life in our economy.

Though the claim and reasoning sounds like heaven for every student it would be difficult to implement the claim and therefore I am opposed to the idea. While a reasonable person suggests that students having more interest in a course leads to better motivation which fruits better results, I think this is not always the case in the long run. Better motivation might achieve better grades but if the consequence if that student will not study life essential subjects like Math or English then better grade are not worth the possible skills lost. However, if the teacher is able to balance their budget and configure courses to take into account some percentage of interest then it could lead to better motivation for some parts.