Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service These organizations have a great need for volunteers but in recent years the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined Th

Recently the number of teenagers taking part in community service by engaging with charitable organizations has significantly declined. Regarding this issue the author concludes that highschool students should be required to partake in community service and complete 40 hours of community service before graduation. The aforementioned argument lacks validity, due to lack of relevant evidence, unaddressed assumptions, weak statistics, and un-evidential correlations the author’s argument is unsubstantial and deeply flawed.

To support the conclusion the author argues that “requiring” students to partake in community service will teach them to give back to the community. Does it always teach students to give back to the community? The author only assumes that students who take part in community service will learn to give back to the community. However, it might be that students may not learn anything. For example, some federal prisoners who are given community service do not learn to give back. Also, the students who are part of the work force due to their family situation, working in restaurant and supermarkets, are already giving back by creating a smoother customer experience for the community.

The author’s weak assumption isn’t the only thing that makes their conclusion flawed, the use of weak statistical evidence also plays a role. The author states that the “number of teenage volunteers has significantly decreased.” While the number of teenagers who are volunteering might have decreased the author does not to compare the total population of teenagers in that year against those who volunteered. It may be that finding statistical information about number of total teenagers in Pleasantville, number of working teenagers and number of volunteering teenagers could show a different perspective of the argument as the number of teenagers per year could be steady, but the number of working teenagers might have increased through the years.

To support their conclusion the author correlates the “great need for volunteers” with the significant decrease in number of teenage volunteers. The weak correlation has no evidence that due to lack of teenage volunteers there is a need for volunteers. The author forgets that there might be volunteers of other age groups helping out as well which would lead to a surplus of volunteers. This could occur especially if the majority population of the town is not teenagers but middle-aged or retired seniors.

Despite the weak evidence, and assumptions used one cannot deny that, with proper evidence, the author’s argument may hold some merit. If the author were to present evidence that population of teenagers has been steady along with population of working teenagers, then it would support the author’s argument that number of teenagers volunteering has diminished significantly throughout the years this would help the author’s conclusion gain some integrity.

The presented argument by the author lacks strong evidence and uses assumptions which lead to the conclusion being unsubstantial. However, with proper evidence like polls, statistical figures the author might be able to work and help their conclusion gain some integrity.