Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined.

The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

There is no doubt that local charities need volunteers. Charities are often short on funds, which deters them from hiring employees. As a result, they may struggle to run their operations efficiently without volunteers routinely assisting them. In addition, what a charity provides is always in demand; they cannot slow down operations simply because they do not have enough labor, whether they be through voluntary or involuntary employment. In that sense, the services or products they provide are different from a business': A business can choose to slow down operations if need be; a local charity cannot. Both of these reasons demonstrate a need for volunteers. However, the author makes an unstated assumption that teenage volunteers should be one of the most important sources for voluntary employment. In conjunction with that assumption, he or she concludes that the Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. This argument is flawed for several reasons, all based on the his or her assumptions about teenage volunteers.

The author assumes that teachers, parents, and community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. However, how do we know that there is consensus? Perhaps some parents think that community service takes away from family time. Maybe teachers believe that too much community service decreases the amount of time that students have available for schoolwork, which, in turn, decreases the quality of their work. If there is a lack of consensus among community members, then the value of community service service is not as high as we should believe it to be. As a result, teachers, parents, and community members may not want to take measures to increase the number of teenage volunteers.

The author additionally assumes that local charities want teenage volunteers. Typically, teenage volunteers are immature: They do not fully understand the impact their work has on the charity's functioning. Therefore, teenagers may detract from the organization's success, distracting workers while they volunteer or even making their jobs more difficult. For example, a food bank needs to sort through 100 pounds of cans per hour, so it may have teenage volunteers do the sorting. What if the teenagers get easily distracted and, instead of following guidelines, accidentally sort through the cans in ways that make finding the food more difficult. Rather than providing additional support, the teenage volunteers pose extra work on the full-time employees, making their jobs more difficult. Having teenage volunteers makes that food bank's, and charity's, operations more efficient and effectively run.

Finally, the author seems to imply that young people can only give back by directly doing so. While teenagers are volunteering, their parents may be at home watching television, learning about municipal issues by following the news. Additionally, local politicians may be writing legislation to support the growth of the local economy and business investment. Rather than directly doing so by volunteering, teenagers can follow in the paths of their adults: They can get involved in local politics, learn about particular topics of interest in the community, and talk about is happening in their community. Being active citizens in their communities is just as important as volunteering.

It is nice to know that there are opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. Opportunities should be available. However, we should not conclude that local charities rely on, or should rely on, teenagers. If local charities are absolutely desperate for volunteers, whether that be because of a severe decrease in the number of volunteers overall or a shortage of employees, then yes, the Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of teenage volunteers. That way, local charities always have a source of volunteers. However, teenage volunteers should only feel invited by charities; otherwise, they may only pose difficulties for the charities they volunteer with.