The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager has posed several immediate concerns regarding its late-night news program, including complaints about a possible decrease in viewership because of changes in the station's weather and local news coverage. S/he has also pointed out that advertising contracts have been canceled. However, the business manager has made an argument that, without evidence regarding the local businesses' behavior, its viewers' complaints, and the television station's intentions, make it invalid.

Firstly, the manager should ask him-/herself what is causing local businesses to cancel their advertising contracts. He/she implies that they have canceled them solely because of changes in the late-night news program. However, has he/she contacted those businesses and point-blank asked them, "Why have you canceled your business contract with us? Was it due to the change in our late-night news program?" Until the manager knows the exact reasons, he/she cannot infer that they canceled their contracts because of the late-night news program. If they canceled because of changes, then it would strengthen the argument; however, if they canceled because they were unhappy with new personnel, poor reporting, or lack of advertisement by the news channel, then the argument would be severely weakened.

In addition to considering what is causing local businesses to cancel their advertising contracts, the manager should ask him-/herself how many local businesses canceled. Television stations rely on a myriad of sources for revenue; they do not solely rely on advertising contracts. Because it is unclear if this television station is sponsored by the government, it is also unclear whether this program was receiving a significant amount of funding to the extent that losing its advertisers has a considerable impact. Therefore, the manager would want to determine how many businesses canceled, how much was lost in revenue, and whether that can be made up by other sources. If too many are canceling and too much was lost in revenue without it being covered by other sources, then it would strengthen the argument; however, if any of those is invalid, then the argument is weakened, and the manager should not be overly concerned with a minuscule loss of revenue sources.

Because the manager is equally concerned with viewership, knowing the type of complaints is necessary. Often, complaints come from the most devoted viewers; simultaneously, viewership from less devoted viewers may have increased. That being said, it would be domineering that the most devoted viewers should dictate what the television station devotes its time to on the late-night news program. It has interested the less devoted viewers and, therefore, increased viewership. That should seem fine, right? The television station can determine the type of complaints by seeing the number of hours each household tunes in to its late-night news program. The ones with more hours would be considered "most devoted"; the ones with less and that only started watching would be considered "less devoted." Knowing this information would either weaken the argument because an increase in the less devoted viewers would compel the television station to continue--and even expand--its late-night news program.

The manager may even want to consider what the intentions of the late-night news program are. Does it intend to provide a more balanced news program? Does the television station want to give more information on the local and national news? If that is the case, increased time to national news is reasonable. In order to strengthen the argument, evidence needs to be given regarding what its intention was, and if the television station were simply looking to change things up, the argument would be weakened.

It is clear that the manager is concerned with viewership and advertising revenue. If he/she were not, he/she would not have written this memorandum. That being said, evidence needs to be provided to strengthen the manager's argument. As it stands, there is not enough evidence to return the late-night news program to its original focus. It must be clear why advertising contracts were canceled, whether the loss in advertising revenue is compensated or even something to be of concern, and if viewership has actually increased as a result of its changes. The manager may want to think about organizing a task force to answer these questions and any lingering ones in order to determine the best course of action. In addition, the television station should ask itself, "Is the manager self-concerned? Is s/he only interested in 'restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level' because it would give him/her more time on-air?" All of these questions must be answered as well in order to use this memorandum usefully.