All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A friend of mine who works in the automobile industry recently said she believes that companies overuse outside consulting services. "It is unnecessary," she says. "Companies can handle issues relating to efficiency, productivity, and cost minimization themselves." She also highlighted that bringing consultants to a company is "counterproductive," as it serves as an opportunity cost for senior managers. They could spend that time toward "listening to their own employees." After listening closely and intently to her argument, I reacted that outside consultants suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently because they introduce creative ideas senior staff would not have thought of otherwise.

When I worked for a small business located near Ithaca, they brought in a local consulting service for a day. They asked all the employees to come in that same day. The consultants surveyed us on a myriad of issues hurdling company success, including organizational communication, technology, and compensation. By the end of the day, they compiled a report on the company's "culture," on which they based several recommendations. Soon thereafter, my managers changed company policy, and the results were immediate. Employees were more comfortable being honest with one another, I could express my unsatisfaction more easily and freely than previously, and my managers were more open to feedback. If efficiency includes the idea of "positive organizational culture," then consulting surely improves efficiency.

Economics states that as output increases, costs per unit decrease. Economists base this claim on a concept known as increasing returns to scale, which argues that if a company were to increase its inputs, the output would increase by more than that increase. Because inputs increase at a lower rate than the increase in output, costs per unit accordingly decrease. However, it is simplistic to believe that all CEOs, especially the one I worked for would know how to execute this effectively. Bringing in a consultant, who understands economic theory and how to implement it in the workplace, can bring about economics of scale. This would yield the efficiency that my friend of mine mentioned, and it does not seem like much of an opportunity cost to me. In fact, not bringing in a consultant would be the opportunity cost.

Most importantly, consultants come from all job functions and industries, and, as a result, they introduce different perspectives that senior managers need. Dan, who is a senior manager at AT&T in the sales department, has been in the industry for ten years. He knows how to manage accounts, identify customer needs, and determine what new customers want. However, does he know how to identify if an employee he is interviewing has those skills and can do the same? Consultants can work with Dan, teaching interviewing skills that will help him notice the right behavior in candidates. Dan will soon become an expert in talent acquisition, with no need for consultants.

I'd like to believe the following: "If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary." However, such a belief is idealistic and, therefore, unrealistic. How can we expect that corporations, which often assigns HR to the role of administrative tasks like payroll and benefits, will suddenly spend more time listening to their own employees? If we truly want to see such happen, we need to show corporations how effective consultants can be. Then, they will introduce internal consulting. Then, my friend can come back and say that (outside) consultants would be unnecessary.