Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

It is stated that although young people are told to "follow their dreams," adults should encourage them to pick goals that are considered "worthy." Why? Adults counter that their dreams are inherently "selfish." The claim and reasoning are quite reasonable for college students who choose ostensibly selfish majors. However, this is not true for all college students, and, ironically, such an act is hypocritical.

When college students choose their dream major, the focus seems to be on earning money, and the school should actively work toward encouraging selflessness. A typical major at Cornell, Harvard, Duke--all of the Ivy-League colleges--is business, economics, and biology and pre-med. These are all career paths conducive toward financial success and indicate a student's concern to earning money. Even more so, their dream may be to become wealthy entrepreneurs or moguls. These facts indicate that their dreams are inherently selfish. The school can intervene in various ways: encouraging students to take courses on social entrepreneurship or nonprofit management, having students volunteer their time in a given course, or even by redesigning curriculums that are geared toward selflessness. By doing so, students can still choose a major that allows them to follow their dream but do so in a "worthy" manner.

On the other hand, many college students show that an individual can have a dream that is worthy. In other words, they are not mutually exclusive. These students take classes in environmental sustainability and even minor in it, intending to build a career in sustainable development. They also are not compelled to volunteer, instead vouching for themselves: They start clubs dedicated to helping the poor, mitigating environmental harm, and developing technology that achieves economic growth. They do this out of selflessness, not selfishness. There is no need to intervene--because they have already chosen "worthy" goals. In this case, the reasoning is false: Not every person's dream is inherently selfish.

In addition, while it is important to encourage young people to follow "worthy" dreams, such an act is hypocritical. Telling young adults how they should live their lives is an act of control that limits their freedoms. Even more, the concept of "worthiness" is fraught with ambiguity. What is "worthiness?" Who gets to define it? It is unfair for adults to encourage young adults to choose goals that they believe to be "worthy," not what the children want for themselves. Is that not the definition of "following your dream," namely that the individual is choosing for him- or herself?

It is important for young adults to include goals that are "worthy" in their and adults can do so by intervening in college settings. At the same time, it is not always necessary: The students have chosen a worthy goal and is active in achieving so. Most concerning, however, is that the claim is unfair. While it is peachy for adults to want their children to choose "worthy" goals, they need to reconsider whether that passes boundaries. What is most important is having students choose dreams and encouraging them to learn what a worthy goal is, without intervention. There will be students who learn what "worthy" is on their own, and there will be students who are simply irreconcilable. However, the majority of students will find a path that is both a little selfish but just as selfless.