Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Cow flu may, or may not, be an epidemic. Inoculation against cow flu may, or may not, cause death. Routine administration may, or may not, be necessary. This individual captures all those "may, or may nots" and argues the following: Although people are dying from cow flu, because there is the possibility that a person will die from inoculation, we cannot "permit" such. However, the individual uses all those "may, or may nots" to make his or her argument, leaving us with an uninformed decision. We cannot simply decide on permitting routine administration unless we have more evidence, specifically evidence relating to inoculation efficacy and how much of a concern cow flu is.

The first source of evidence is how many people actually die following inoculation. For a person who does not know, it is easy to conclude that we cannot permit inoculations, even if there is a small possibility that a person will die. Perhaps the person who stated this argument knows of a friend who died. However, making conclusions off one instance reflects biased thinking. Such would be equivalent to making an argument on evidence most available and rejecting any evidence that might weaken an argument, otherwise known as the availability and confirmation biases. If we were to collect data across the US showing the number of individuals who receive the inoculation and how many died soon thereafter, we would have a better sense of whether we can or cannot permit routinely-administered inoculations.

In addition, knowing the number of people that die as a result of cow flu will help us make a more informed decision. Say, for instance, that very few people die as a result of cow flu. Sure, it then makes sense not to permit inoculations against cow flu because it would be a violation of privacy and may even be a way of taking away your freedom. It also puts a medical burden on the individual receiving the inoculation and requires unnecessary and undue government expenditures. However, if cow flu is an epidemic, then routinely-administered inoculation is necessary. We would be more equipped to evaluate this individual's argument if we had access to the number of people that die as a result of cow flu.

Another source of evidence, and likely the most important, is how many lives would be saved if we were to routinely administer inoculations. Knowing whether inoculation actually prevents cow flu will tell us whether inoculation actually does anything to save people's lives and whether we should permit routine administration. In addition, it would indicate that using government expenditures would be a worthwhile cause. However, yet again, we cannot know unless we know how many lives would be saved as a result of routine administration.

Before we can discuss the argument at hand, and its strength, we need to know more about the issue. The individual making this statement seems to be making a strong conclusion and inferring a good decision by making a statement without presenting much evidence. By doing so, we are almost forced to accept it, since we don't really know how to argue against it. However, we cannot simply be left behind without considering the evidence for and against it.