Sports stars and movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Young people need role models because they condition them to behave in socially appropriate and approved ways. This is logical because role models are the individuals we see most often. Because movie stars are frequently in the media, we would like to believe that they are suited to behave as a child's role model. However, it is inane to believe that, because we are surrounded by sports and movie stars, they are apt for such a position; we should expect them only to entertain us.

Asking sports and movie stars to behave as role models is unfair because we are asking them to do something not required of them. Regardless of how much money we pay them, they are not suddenly social figures in our lives. Expecting them to fulfill an additional societal responsibility is equivalent to asking a coworker to work the late shift or come to work early; he or she is completing tasks otherwise not asked of him or her. They are not being paid to be social figures; they are being paid to entertain us, just as a coworker is being paid to complete exactly what is asked of him or her.

We cannot ask them to behave as role models if we do not first establish a clearly-defined ideal of what a role model is. In other words, the idea of a "role model" is ambiguous. What does it mean to behave as a role model? Do they speak out against injustices? Or should they solely volunteer? Should being a "role model" be an amalgam of activities? If we are even to say that they "have an obligation to behave as role models," then we need to have a clear idea of what being a role model is. Until then, we cannot expect anything of them.

Most importantly, we cannot expect them to serve as role models when they act ambivalently with regard to social, economic, and environmental issues. Although Leonardo de Caprio is outspoken toward environmental issues, he owns multiple coal- and gas-based energized homes. There is the case of Alex Rodriguez, who abused steroids while playing in the MLB. Are these the individuals we expect to behave as role models, when they show differing attitudes toward what being a role model is? Not only can we not expect sports and movie stars to not behave as role models because we do not even have a consensus of what a role model is but we cannot expect them because they do not appropriately in the first place.

Sports and movie stars are clearly not appropriate to behave as role models. They are not asked to be such, and we first need to have clearly-defined ideas of what a role model is. And even then, our "role models" need to act consistently. Rather than deluding ourselves into believing that sports and movie stars are best fit to serve as role models, we should expect more of society's scientists, doctors, and professors omnipresent in our lives to serve as such. We need to put more effort into making the already-present present role models in our lives be more present--more present than the sports and movie stars.