"Sports stars & movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them. In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid, we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility." -Write a response i

Do sports stars and movie stars and have an obligation towards their fans or masses for that matter. Yes, I believe that movie stars and celebrities have a moral obligation towards their but i disagree with writers statement that they should fulfill their moral responsibility as a return or repayment for millions of dollars they earn. I would explain my reasons in below.

Firstly, any artist like a movie star, sports personality gets paid for their efforts their talent. People love their art, talent, and hance reward them. Thus these celebrities earn millions of dollars. For eg Virat Kholi he is a talented cricketer earns his money because of his talent. Now if expect him to follow every social norm care about his image when he is public wold affect his cricketing carrier as he would be focusing on these things rather than his game. Which would affect him as well as his team?

Secondly being socially responsible or behaving like a role model is a personal choice. One cannot be forced to act in a certain manner just to please people. Every human being has a different personality it is formed by childhood upbringing, situations faced in his/her life. One cannot simply change that by simply flipping a switch.

One might argue that many young people look up to these celebrities. And hence can get influence by their bad social behavior. I would say that one can change their role model if he is not socially responsible, or makes seem many times in the past of worst social behavior. As people would stop following these immoral people they would stop being relevant. Which would be better than changing someone's behavior or making someone act like someone they are not.

Hence I would like to conclude by saying every human being is different. and making someone compulsory do somethings just for the sake of image would rather be counterproductive. Good social behavior, social responsibility are inherent character one which cannot be imparted in an individual instantly. And hence I fell it will be wrong to expect role models loke movie stars, sports stars to be socially responsible in return for the money they are being paid.