ARGUMENT: Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly d

The writer say that there has been a decrease in number volunteers in Pleasantvillle. And the demand of volunteers has increased of late.They provide a solution for this problem by stating that the Pleasantville school should include a compulsory program for every student to complete 40 hours in community service prior to graduation. Although seeming plausible at first the argument has many flaws.Which will be discussed below.

First of all the use of ambiguous words such as several, recent makes the argument weak.As the writer is not giving any solid evidence or numbers. The phrase in recent years can very well imply 5 years or can also imply 15 years so there is no method to quantize the seriousness of argument.

Secondly the argument says that the number of volunteered has decrease but does not provide any concrete evidence for this claim. It may be the case that infarct the number of community service providing organisation has increased. In this case the information about these various organization has not yet reached the student. Then students cannot be blamed in this case. Hence the author must give proper reasons for the decrease in student volunteers to improve the argument.

Finally the argument suggests that the high school should require every student to complete 40 hours community service prior to graduation. Although providing assisting to charity would provide young people a platform to give some thing back to the community. Making it compulsory requirement contradict the very meaning "volunteering".Moreover the writer arrives at the number(40 hours) randomly without sitting reason behind it.

In some the argument is unconvincing as it stands and the writer should provide additional information regarding the decrease in students. And He/she should also specify the clear meaning of words like several, recent to make a compelling argument. Lastly making volunteering a requirement for high school graduation seems like a harsh decision without first finding the reasons for the decrease in volunteers.