The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed

The letter to editor of local news paper states that ways to save money on garbage disposal. For that the writer gives the example of a neighboring Town which decreased their garbage disposal costs by making compulsory for residents to recycle. This argument has many flaws which will be discussed below.

Firsty the author of the letter states that the neighboring town made it compulsory to recycle paper or else they were fined. While the author here suggests this town should run an add to recycle. According to me both of this initiatively are inherently different while the people of Hayesworth may unwilling had recycled the garbage fearing the fine. But the people of Masontown dont have that fear and may be unwilling to recycle the garbage. Hence the author's argument that this campaign will save money falls apart.

Secondly the author suggests people of Masontown should be encouraged to recycle waste by running an advertising campaign. This advertising campaign will cost money. Which may very well be more than that is saved from recycling the garbage. The writer here is inconspicious about the amount saved from recycling and the amount to be spent on advertising. So giving extra information about these costs will make authors argument strong.

Thridly comparing two town without baground information will be a mistake. As each town is different and has different attribures and characteristic. For example, recyclable products in Haynesworth are way more and hence decreasing them saved significant money for Hayestown. But mason town may not have that recyclable garbage hence recycling won't affect the overall garbage disposal much. Hence more information about these towns should be given by the author to make the argument compelling.

As sum the authors argument is unconvincing as it stands. And has many fkaws as given above.To strengthen the argument the author must give more information about the cost, town characteristics. And should also comment on the profitability of the venture.