“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the la

The environment protection group has appealed to the residents of Youngstown to not allow the smith corporation to develop the land in the Youngstown Wildlife Preserve. To support this the writer states that the sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 species of birds that reside there .And the building of the hotel by Smith corporation would not benefit the community which relies on tourist bird watchers.

Firstly the writer states the sanctuary is essential for the existence 300 bird species This may not be the case . These 300 species may as well thrive without the sanctuary.In this case, giving a small amount of land for hotel won't affect. them The writer should give more information about the extend of dependence of these birds on the sanctuary.

Secondly the writer states the only a small amount land is being given to the corporation . This amount of land will be negligible compared to the area of sanctuary. And may not have a huge impact on the environment .The writer talks about disastrous consequences for that area but fails to mentions those consequence.hence the writer should give more information about These consequences to make the argument compelling.

Thirdly the write states that the building of the hotel will not benifit the community which relies on bird watching tourists .But it is possible that the presence of nearby accomodation like a hotel would in-fact attract more tourist and will infact a help the community.

and even if it doesn't attract tourist the building of hotel will require labour which can be provided by local population which will give economic boost to the locals.

Consequently the petition to the residents of Youngtown by an environment protection group has many flows and they should solve these flaws and give additional information to make their argument compeling.