A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

A person should always be held accountable for his crimes and should be given punishment according to the seriousness of his crime. The statement here claims that any person who commits a crime should not retain any civils rights should not receive any benefits from his or her own labor. I think this is a very strong statement to make without considering the underlying crime of the criminal. hence I disagree with the claim and I would put forth my reasons below.

Firstly the amount of punishment given to any criminal breaking any social, political laws should depend on the crime. For eg, the crime of match-fixing in cricket is comparatively a mild one wherein the criminal is banned from playing cricket now if the above claim is applied here he/she would lose all social rights and their earnings. This seems too harsh a punishment for such a minor crime. The famous cricketer Ajay Jadeja was charged with match-fixing in 1998. But now he can be seen in cricket talk shows, and experts forums sharing his knowledge if he were socially ostracized people wouldn't have benefited with his knowledge.

Secondly, if a criminal is deprived of his or her earnings their children would also be deprived of their parent's income .which in fact would leed in them to follow their parent's path in crime. The offspring and depending families of these criminals haven't done anything legally wrong and they should have a basic right to their parent's income.

Hence I would like to conclude by saying that the criminals of minor crimes should not be stripped of their social rights as these things help them to come to fold and improve their lives and the criminals shouldn't also be deprived of their labor as the money they have earned is legal and their offspring and family members have the legal to gain from their income.