A recent survey of 250 adults between the ages of 30 and 45 showed an association between the number of hours adults spend online each day and self-reporting of symptoms commonly associated with depression. The survey found that adults who spend 30 hours

The argument sites a survey of 250 people betweeen the age of 30 and 45. Based on the result of the survey the writer claim that spending time online is linked to depression and people should spend limited time online.Both the survey results and writer's arguments are unconvincing has many inherent flaws.

Firstly the sample size of the survey. The survey was taken for 250 people adults. Judgment of a mere 250 people seems small to judge all adult population. Moreover the age group that was surveyed was between 30-45 this can no way represent whole adult population.Or rather is not enough to judge all people. Hence the survey should be more inclusive to convince me that spending time online is harmful to health.

The survey says that of adults who reported more than 30 hours per week online 20 % reported felling sad three times in last month.This data alone doesnt say that being online more then 30 hours leads to sadness as the data about people who are less than 30hours online is not given. What if 20% or more of the people who are online less then 30 hours reported being sad reported being sad. Than the whole argument falls apart the being online leads to sadness and depression.

Finally even if we ignore the survey's data gathering flaws it mentions of people being sad ,down,blue or having trouble having concentration although these are signs of depression it cannot be concluded without proper professional consultancy. The writer quickly jumps to conclusion stating that spending time online leads to depression. which weakens the argument.

In sum, The survey as well as the conclusion has various flaws and missing information because of which the argument is unconvincing.