A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previo

In the above letter, the movie director tells the company to increase the funding of the movie and the movie will be a failure if it doesn't get the required money. The proof that the writer points out that the director is a novice and will be waste full based on his previous industry and inexperienced assistant producers and director will lead to extra money cost for the company.

Firstly the writer state that because the director is from the advertising business and the advertising is notoriously wasteful the director will be wasteful. This claim is biased as one cannot judge the working method of a director from his previous industry. Every individual has a unique style and method of doing their work. One cannot merely generalize based on industry. Maybe commercials shooting requires to take multiple takes for one scene. Which won't be a case in movie making. Hence the writer should give more information about this specific director to convince me to increase the funding of the movie.

Secondly, the author states that the advertising business is wasteful. Never does he give any data suggestings this.

Thirdly the writer assumes that the inexperienced assistant producers and director they have will take extra time to arrange things on set. Even if they take more time than experienced assistant producers and director, The delay may not be as huge such the studio would have to pay the actor and crews extra time.

Because of the above reason I find the author's argument to be unwarranted. The author fails to convince me to increase the funding of the movies.