A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

The given argument suggests that the funding should be increased for a movie by 10% to ensure a quality product and its success. Along the way towards a conclusion, the argument makes several implicit and explicit assumptions. We further consider each of them one by one.

It states that we are working with a first-time director who only has previous experience of shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Hence, it delimits the domain knowledge and understanding of the director based on his work experience. In addition, it states that the advertising business is notoriously wasteful; hence ...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.