"The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The given statement states a maxim that the first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar. Self-knowledge is simply the awakening of one's true self. It is all about knowing yourself, your inner soul and understanding the purpose of your life. While I agree with the recommendation here, that you must relinquish the familiar ideas to come closer to yourself; there are certainly few scenarios where it may not hold true. The text further lucidifies on the recommendation.

It is undoubtedly a fact that as we grow we come across several ideas and idealogies, which we incorporate within ourselves to get a better understanding of how the world works. Somehow in our journey these play a part and mould us towards our future selves. We imbibe and learn from our surroundings and over a passage of time everything becomes familiar. But in that we do lose a part of ourself and start thinking about the purpose for which we were born.

This is when we need to unlearn.There is a common phrase to learn, unlearn and relearn. Whatever was our initial learning is what we are familiar with. But now when we are trying to relearn about ourself on the path of self-knowledge, there is something that holds us back and that is the previous worldly wisdom of ours. So in order to accomplish our goal of relearning we need to unlearn and reject whatever we were well-acquainted with.

So, I believe that we do need to reject the beliefs, that have always been familiar to us and start from scratch to know ourself. We need to enter the nascent or inchoate stage and work towards growing ourselves in a new light. However, there lies a possible contradiction here. When we say our circumstances have build us to the point we are, how can we reject everything foundational to us in order to know our roots. That is just the point where the recommendation fails to strike a chord with me.

Everything till this very moment has played a significant and monumental role in shaping us to our current form. In a fraction of a second how can we decide to forego all at once, just to start a journey all over again? Wouldn't it be foolish of us to do something so strange? I believe this is one of those things that are cryptic and enigmatic at the same time. Till date we have always followed a pre-laid path to move ahead hence, today to gain self-knowledge we are confounded with the dilemma or conundrum which handicaps our judgement? But isn't it the best beginning. Since, we are embarking on a new journey shouldn't we stop making decisions using our previous algorithm and move towards a new method which will not only be enriching but also satisfying? The path to self-knowledge is just that.

Hence, yes it rightly said that the first step towards self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar. Though there are instances where this may confound us and the path may seem obscure but that's just a good start according to me and would indeed help us to leave what we have always been carrying in our head in the form of familiar knowledge.