"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The given argument favours unmanned space flight over manned missions. To prove its stand, it suggests that manned space flight is costly and dangerous. It recounts a recent example where the success of a series of unmanned space probes initiated this discussion of which of the two possibilities should be favoured. But, the argument in its course of judgement, makes several assumptions. These are explained in the forthcoming content.

It considers that the tasks involved with both manned and unmanned space flight are synonymous and can be performed interchangeably. It eliminates the possibility that a manned mission is to see how humans perform in extreme, adverse, extraterrestrial environments which is impossible to be judged through an unmanned space flight. Moreover, it considers that the recent success of several unmanned space flights indicates that they suffice for all tasks, eliminating the need of men or women in space. It also assumes that the celerity of human brain can be replaced by a pre-programmed device and the efficiency of output or results of a human mission can also be replicated using a robot.

It also hints the pecuniary detail concerning cost of a space mission. This suggests an assumption that all manned flights are costlier as compared to unmanned flights. This generality is fatal when it comes to expanding our knowledge to outer space. There has been significant and massive growth in the aeronautical industry where cost has been reduced without limiting on the technical aspects of a space mission.

Another point raised in the argument is about the dangers involved in a manned flight. Here, it overrides all the dangers which are also involved in an unmanned flight. Risks are not exclusive to men or women in space. They are ubiquitous because of the nature of work involved so we cannot assume without significant evidence that blatantly shows a manned mission perilous. Also, people involved in such missions undergo rigorous training to increase their capacity and mettle to survive in such challenging conditions. Most of them are fully aware of the risks associated, so it is nothing but their interest and motivation that makes them astronauts.

In addition to the above points, the arguments suggests that a great deal of information can be gathered even through unmanned space flights. Therefore, in this scenario it assumes that that the information collected in both kind of missions is similar. Unless and until we analyse the agenda of both missions and their outputs we cannot infer what kind of information provided is unique to a particular category of mission.

Hence, we have mentioned above all the assumptions made by the given argument. Summarizing them we have the following:-

1. Tasks involved with both manned and unmanned space flight are synonymous.

2. It eliminates the purpose of why humans go for space missions.

3. All manned flights are costlier as compared to unmanned flights.

4. It oversees dangers associated with unmanned space missions.

5. It assumes that that the information collected in both missions is similar.