"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Competition amongst individuals seldom leads to salubrious outcomes. It is with this notion, that a society should support ideals which prepare its young people who are fledglings in their respective domains for leadership in government, industry, or other fields by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

An old adage says that together we stand tall and divided we fall. If in the process of introducing the naive and innocent to the world we instill in them a sense of competition then they will feel that life is a race. That survival of the fittest is the only aim that they should hold high. Brotherhood and fraternity will no longer seem important to them. Moreover in this feeling of emerging victorious and vanquishing others they will forget basic humanity. It will all be about either winning or losing.

Instead if they are introduced to the concept of cooperation in emerging as a leader then not only will they rise as individuals but with them they will ensure that an entire society rises. It will not be a self-centred approach based on "I" but rather an approach that takes the society to the apogee as "We". Such learnings will make them realise that the real joy of success and prosperity comes by sharing and not by relishing on your own. It will also improve their social skills which are desideratum for anyone who wants to rise to the top.

All fields involve communication and collaborating with the masses. It can be the government which is endowed with the responsibility of crores of citizens, or a business that deals with sales, marketing, consumers, shareholders and teams. In addition, it can be the entertainment industry with all the glitz and glamour that churns out moving pictures to appeal the audience or a non-profit organisation that finds solace in altruism. Interacting with people, brainstorming ideas, and considering the others' viewpoint is ubiquitous as well as unavoidable. There is no way to find success and reach the pinnacle if a person does not adopt cooperation as an ideal.

Nonetheless, what we emphasize here is to not invest in unhealthy competition which is detrimental to growth. Competition between industries and individuals is inevitable. The path to apex is tortuous and convoluted with impediments in the form of competitors along the way. So, competing is bound to remain. But young individuals must be taught that this competition must ensure that no one is harmed. It must be taken in the right spirit and whatever be the result there should not be a situation that is untoward for the society. For example, let us consider two leading technology firms. Both are at the verge of being called globally the best. But since, they have equal mettle and skills there is no one clear winner. Considering this as the scenario the young leader must be taught that creating technology that brings success, is widely accepted, and revolutionary is more important than indulging in unscrupulous tactics to ensure the decline of the other company. In simpler terms, if we have two lines and we want to make one of the lines longer then we can either extend one of them or erase a part of the other one.

There are various things that the world looks for in a leader. We must ensure that young children realise what it means to be a leader in the most apposite sense and in a way through which the society benefits. If in the nascent stage itself, they are introduced to propitious concepts then they will grow up as prudent individuals who can succesfully take the right steps to reach the zenith.