A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument suggests that a pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall and further testing of the samples it was found that the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and hence the company decided not to devote further resources to the investigation. There are several assumptions to be examined in this argument. We expound on each of them in the text ahead.

Firstly, the argument does not mention whether the amount of chemicals present was ideal and approved for pet food. It mentions that the chemicals were approved but the quantities in which they must be consumed is not mentioned here. Hence, it is possible that they are present in excess and thus affect the health of pets. So the possible assumption here is that the chemicals were present in a quantity within acceptable limits for the pets. If this assumption is proven unwarranted then the pet food company is liable for legal action due to damage to pets' health and can possibly face indictment. This will also tarnish and besmirch their reputation and incur heavy losses for the company.

Next, it assumes that all pets had a secondary reason for declining health since the pet food seemed comestible. It overlooks the common symptoms and their ubiquity. After further tests by the food and drug association, if the company is found culpable of overlooking important indicators just to preserve its brand and image then again there are chances of facing huge losses as well as undergoing trials.

In addition to the above assumptions, the pet food company also believes that the test results are veracious and not tampered with. It is always a possibility that the tests carried out might be faulty or not up to the mark, hence if this assumption is proven unwarranted then the company witnesses a possibility of losing its license.

Moreover, the pet food company assumes that any amount of consumption of pet food is innocuous and hence should not affect the pets. Since, the pet food contains chemicals there is supposed to be an upper limit after which the concentration of chemicals can prove to be lethal for the pet's health. If this assumption is proven unwarranted then the company will have to run a series of tests to ensure that a proper serving of pet food is suggested, and ensure that this serving amount does not have any adverse effect on the pets.

Hence, we have highlighted a few assumptions of the pet food company which can be summarized as follows:

1. Chemicals were present in a quantity within acceptable limits for the pets.

2. All pets had a secondary reason for declining health since the pet food seemed comestible.

3. The test results are truthful and not tampered with.

4. Any amount of consumption of pet food is innocuous and hence should not affect the pets.