The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument suggests that Oceania University saw higher faculty retention when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown has proclivity or predilection to institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors. There are several evidences imperative to evaluate the argument. The content further details out each one of them succinctly.

Firstly, we need to know the demographics of Oceania University at different points in time to analyse the growth in rate of faculty retention. We also need to consider what factors contributed which led the professors to retain in the University. Free tuition might be a superficial assumption but an in-depth analysis is required to confirm its veracity. Every outcome is driven by a cause. In this case, if we can list the possible reasons for retention then we can work on each of them individually to see their share in the final outcome.

Moving on, we need to consider the existing circumstances and situations in Oceania University and how they differ from Seatown. We need to consider how both Universities offer perquisites and what is the overall environment which is provided to the professors. We need to see whether there are any environmental factors which have a say in the decision-making process of retention. This is necessary because environment, surroundings and work culture often have a significant role to play in influencing our decisions related to the workplace. If we look for such factors then we can see what were the professors' predilections and analyse them accordingly before Seatown implements a similar policy.

In addition, we need to see the number of college-aged children of professors in both Universities. If Seatown does not have a major number of college-aged children then the favored change in policy would not achieve its goal of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors. Since, children are a key parameter of the process, their count would have a big impact on reasoning the professor retention in Oceania University.

We also need to see the methods implemented by Oceania University for the sole purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors. The policy of free tuition at the university for the professors' own college-aged children must not have been constructed with an end result similar to what Seatown is looking for. Hence, if we find any ideas from Oceania University which were implemented or thought with the same or similar goal in mind as Seatown, then we can analyse those and derive something such that it benefits Seatown.

Lastly, we need to consider the differences in tuition costs for students in both Universities to check for anomalies and similarities before implementing the successful idea on Seatown. This check is necessary to ensure that economies at both Universities are parallel and alike in nature. Since, a parameter that is modified in the policy is tuition, we need to consider it as a factor and find the differences possible in both universities to see their pecuniary establishments.