The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for thei

In the given letter from the faculty committee to the President of Seatown University, claims are made about a study that was conducted at another nearby University named Oceania University. Per committee, Oceania University has a high faculty retention, the reason being their professors are lured with free tuition for their college-aged children at the University itself. So, the committee insists on following a similar practice in Seatown University as well where a free-tuition policy should be initiated. The committee claims that this will not only enhance the morale of the faculty but also help in luring new professors into the University.

The claims made in the above statement are obscure and lack substantial grounds. A cohesive approach is required to analyse the given statement and demands varied evidences to support the same.

First, the study conducted at the Oceania University doesn't talk about numbers, how many professors participated in the study? What is the time period when the study was conducted? Was it sooner or way back in time? How many professors in the University actually had college-aged children? how many were actually using the free-tuition policy granted by the University? All these questions need a viable answer to warrant the above statement.

Also, the faculty committee claims that a free-tuition policy should be instituted in Seatown University without giving the enumeration of professors who actually have college-going children? It is possible that only a small proportion of the faculty working at Seatown University has college-going children and rest have small kids, are single or have kids who are already married. Hence, the faculty as a whole won't be benefitted much from such a policy.

Moreover, the committee doesn't talk anything about the scope of the free-tuition policy. How is it going to benefit the college-going children of the faculty members? Will tuitions be provided for all subjects or only a bunch of them? Who will be delivering the lectures? Will these tuitions provide quality-study hours or will be considered forsakenly?

Another question that the faculty needs to address is who is going to incur the costs of this free-tuition policy? Will the University take charge of the entire project? And since some people will definitely be deployed to provide tuitions to these children, who will be responsible to pay them for working extra hours? The entire plot of the policy needs to be examined carefully before rolling out such a practise.

Hence, clearly the given claims demand some serious attention to questions raised above and a proper formulation and discussion needs to be undertaken before culminating to such a policy. It needs to be examined if this policy can really boost professors morale and lure new professors or is it just a flowery deal resulting in no good returns.