An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be p

In the given argument, the author states about the prevailing deficiency of Vitamin A amongst the people of a nation named Tagus. The author claims that a new breed of millet has been engineered by an International development organization that has high Vitamin A content. The author also claims that farmers will be paid subsidies for farming this new variety of millet since it is costlier than before. Also, since millet is the staple food in Tagus, the author feels that people will readily adapt to the new variety. The only way to deal with the Vitamin A deficiency problem is to promote the new variety of millet as given in the argument. Well, the author has tried his best to justify the claims given in the argument, but he fails to enlighten the reader with any substantial reasoning. There are umpteen questions that need to be addressed before we can culminate to a solution to the problem proposed above.

First, the author claims that the new breed of millet has been engineered by an International development organization. No where has he mentioned about the credulity of this organization, is this organization solely dedicated to engineering seeds and works for the development of agriculture and farming. How advanced is this organization, how was the new variety of millets made rich in Vitamin A, what level of expertise was involved, who were the scientists working to propose such a lucrative breed of millets? All the questions need a solid understanding and substantial answers.

Second, the author claims that millet is the staple food in Tagus and people will easily adapt to the new variety. Well, this claim definitely lacks rational grounds. It is plausible that the new variety of millets have a different taste or maybe some pungent taste associated with it since the Vitamin A content has been substantially increased. Thus, people are likely to dislike the new taste and move to try new and better things with a more likable taste. They may also be disappointed with the new breed and prefer the low content variety due to its better taste and already acquired habit.

Third, in the above argument, the author has made a statement about combating Vitamin A deficiency amongst the people of Tagus bolstering about the promotion of the new variety of millets as the only way to deal with the problem. Well, the author needs to open up and learn about all the food items that are rich in Vitamin A and promote not only millets but all the Vitamin A rich food varieties. The author needs to focus on steps that can be taken to make people more aware of their health and educate them about the serious hazards Vitamin A deficiency can lead to. People should be encouraged to eat Vitamin A rich food items and the grocery stores can play an important role in this, helping them choose a consummate diet rich in not only Vitamin A, but all sorts of Vitamins and nutrients.

Summarising the above claims made in the argument given, all the claims made by the author stand unwarranted. Deep analysis and substantial justification are required to consider the above claims warranted. The author needs to understand the complexity of the situation and open up to the myriad steps that can be taken to deal with the crisis.