Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

The author concludes that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. In support of this claim, he states that these woven baskets were discovered by the archaeologists in another ancient village named Lithos situated across the Brim river from Palea. Also, per author since the river was deep and broad, there was no other way to cross the river than the Palean boats and evidently no Palean boats were ever found. Although, the author demonstrates his argument assertively but there are few assumptions that need to be undertaken before culminating to a conclusion.

The author claims that the only way to cross the Brim River was to cross it by boat since the river is deep and broad. But he fails to address the given assumptions. Was the river broad throughout its stretch? It is possible that after covering a few miles along the banks of the river, it narrowed and there was a scope of crossing it by an over-bridge. Also, author claims that there were no Palean boats found which is pretty obscure. It is possible that the Palean boats were exclusively used for trade purposes and when archaeologists visited Palean, the boats travelled to some other village for trade activities. It is also not addressed if the Paleans really owned any boats in reality. Another possibility is that Paleans summoned boats from nearby villages, used them for their own good and paid for their services as and when required.

Now, since no substantial claims have been made by the author about Paleans not being able to cross the river, it is possible that the villagers could commute using other means. Possibly, a number of skilled workers manufacturing the woven baskets migrated to Lithos and set up their business units. Also, another possibility is that the woven baskets were used by the Paleans to carry goods or other commodities to other villagers as a part of their trade activities. This gives rise to another plausible reason why the distinctive woven baskets were found in Lithos.

All these assumptions clearly weaken author’s claim that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. Although, he substantiates his thoughts but it not quite clear how credible these claims are and how veracious they tend to be. The above mentioned claims need addressal and unless this is taken into consideration, the entire argument tends to portray a vague vision on author’s behalf.