To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

It will be an obscure statement if we say that the overall development of a country is dependent only on its major cities. Yes, big or small, cities are like those crucial wheels of a car that can’t be driven even if one of them is missing. In order to understand the most important characteristics of a society, more focus should be given on the not so major cities rather than the major ones, who are yet to make progress in terms of social, economic and political development. When we talk about social development, we are addressing the educational, health and welfare needs of the society. These are already up to the mark in a majority of the big cities, so there’s nothing much to understand other than implementing similar structures and policies in the minor ones as well. The small, developing cities devoid of sufficient facilities deserve more attention of the concerned authorities and the government. Such cities need careful examination of the areas where education and healthcare amenities can be improved. E.g., it should be ensured that schools are well equipped and facilitate a student’s learning in today’s tech-savvy world like modern libraries and laboratories, facility to have knowledge transfer between students across the borders, indoor and outdoor games facilities, etc.

Talking about the economic status of the people in the cities, I don’t deny the fact that people in big cities have a tremendous purchasing power, a lavish lifestyle and well-paying job opportunities. You must agree to the point that is doesn’t demand as much attention as the people in smaller cities who are devoid of a sedentary lifestyle, superfluous money, and good employment opportunities. It is somewhat important as well as necessary for a country to focus on these people, educate themselves about their problems and take steps for their upliftment, open up new doors for their development and ensure that the resources or opportunities reach the correct set of people.

Coming to the political aspects, there is a great need to get in touch with the people of smaller cities, gather insights from them and define suitable policies and reforms for their upliftment. This will not only bring a sense of equality amongst all but also help to bridge the gap between the rural and the urban cities altogether. People will feel they are heard and revered and the inferiority complex will eventually fade away.

Let’s take the example of a developing nation like India, where the rich are getting richer and the poor is getting poorer. This is because the already well-off cities are enjoying the incentives and opportunities whereas the small cities are still deprived of the basic amenities. The gap between the rich and the poor is increasing day by day. This needs immediate attention and suitable steps need to be taken in order to study the above-mentioned characteristics of the small cities. It is necessary to inculcate amongst the Government that a country as a whole can never progress if the poor or the deprived are left behind. A developing nation can only be tagged as a Developed Nation when unanimously all its cities, big or small enjoy equal incentives and are equally developed and well off.