A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled foo

In the given argument, the author has made claims about a pet food company that had to recall 4 million pounds of pet food due to an increased number of complaints. The pets were reported to suffer from several signs of illnesses namely vomiting, lethargy, etc. It retested their samples and determined that the chemicals used were all approved for use in pet food. The author also claims that the pet food company is not responsible for the issue and is not going to devote any more time or resources in further investigation.

Honestly, the given claims are too vague to reach a conclusion. The given claims do not provide enough evidence for a reader to trust the company's stance and hence the above claims stand unwarranted.

We need to do a careful analysis of the given claims and provide suitable evidence to substantiate them. Let's start by talking about the pet food company itself. Nowhere has the author talked about the number and type of pet food items that the company is producing. The food items were for some specific animals like cats, dogs, parrots, rabbits or were it something generic that s edible for all the pets.

Next, it is not described that different pets are likely to have different choices, tastes, and different metabolisms so it is questionable to give the same pet food to all of them. They are likely to fall sick and feel lethargic if such a scenario happens. For instance, one pet food item may be adored by cats but disliked by rabbits and gunnie pigs and at the same harmful for a dog's digestive system. So, the pet food should be made more pet-specific.

Also, the complaints here that are being talked about do not reflect the numbers, no enumeration has been done on the variety of pet animals. How many complaints were from people who had dogs, how many from cat-owning people, how many from rabbits and so on. It is essential to monitor the number to work out an action plan for future.

Next, the recalled samples were re-tested by the pet food company but nowhere has the credibility of the resources been mentioned. Which organization monitored this testing? Is the testing procedure coherent to the norms laid by the Government Food Organisation? Did they do the testing themselves? Well, if yes than there is a great chance that in order to preserve the name of their company, they have given out fake results and are more likely not to accept their folly. That would bring a bad name to the company and their business would suffer and witness a downfall.

Hence, substantial evidence is required to answer the questions that have been raised above and we need to carefully examine each in order to reach a stance where we can state whether the pet food company is truly at fault or are they free of this malicious act. The evidence will help us to reach the culmination of the argument stated above and provide a clear picture of the intentions of the pet food company.