People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Decision making is an art that is developed since the beginning itself, from the time a child starts developing a thinking capability. In school, we decide to make friends, when we grow up, we decide our field of study, our food choices, our fashion ethics and hence making a decision in all aspects of life, small or big. A good decision always helps to resolve issues, thus resulting in time management and lucid thoughts. A very important thing to be considered here is that all these decisions are subject to change w.r.t different people and different circumstances. Some people prefer emotion over rationality and others rationality over emotion. It solely depends on an individual how he/she perceives a situation and exhibits his decisiveness towards it.

Now, the question is what is a powerful decision-making? How do we decide that the decision one is taking is correct or incorrect, rational or irrational, sound or vague? Well, answers to these questions cannot be jotted down unequivocally. They are dependent on umpteen factors, situations, and instances. We cannot unanimously declare that the people who make decisions based on emotion then try to justify them with logic are poor decision makers. It is possible that emotion-driven decisions too carry a significant proportion of rationality attached to them. It is definitely plausible that emotion-based rationality can ultimately help one in making a more sound decision. And well, to be blunt, this is how we define the art of decision making, an apt proportion of emotion amalgamated with an apt proportion of logic, not neglecting the criticality of the situation.

Let's take the example of a family, there are so many instances that can be enumerated when we talk about decision making in a family. The head of the family, let's say dad or mom cannot always weigh their decisions on lucrative ideas and logical thinking. Many a time, they need to open up their emotional smattering of the brain and make a decision that is in favor of the entire family, not forgetting that it does contain a considerable thought process and is not entirely emotion-driven. But yes, certainly when things like love, commitment and empathy probe in, decisions tend to escalate from rationality towards emotion. This is witnessed in almost all relationships we come across.

Now let's move our attention to the entirely different category of decisions that are logic-driven rather than emotion. First, it is absolutely futile to declare that any decision can be solely logic-driven, it will definitely have a certain emotion associated with it. For instance, when we talk about politicians, they tend to show people that all their decisions are emotion based and with regard to the welfare of the people, but in reality, they are looking forward to all sorts of benefits and perks that these decisions are going to bring along. Similar is the case of businessmen, decisions are in favor of their company and company employees, hence an emotion and logic walking hand in hand. Hence, it would be obscure to conclude that emotion-based decision makers who tend to reason their decisions with logic are poor decision makers.