As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

As the dependence on Technology increases with each passing decade, the ability of humans to think will not deteriorate but move one level ahead. Technology leads to ease, that is, technological advancements have lead to the discovery of umpteen devices and products that have resulted in a gradual decrease in human effort and time. Today, we are able to connect with thousands of people over the globe, how? We are able to pay our telephone, electricity and credit card bills with a single click, how? Medical treatments and hospitals are endowed with such advanced machinery that can diagnose several diseases in a jiffy, how? We are able to deploy human intelligence into machines to make them smarter than ever, how? Technology is the answer to all these questions. Technology has not only made our lives easier but also helped us to go and think beyond the ordinary, it has empowered our brains to achieve all that was once considered implausible. Be it in the field of Education, Science, Engineering or Medicine, technology has made its ubiquitous mark in almost all sphere of life.

Coming to the context of self-deterioration with the advent of Technology, I strongly disagree with the statement. When technology brought new designs and products, along with it, it brought new techniques and myriad aspects to work upon them. It not only made lives more convenient but also demanded the skill set and knowledge work upon them. Product designing, invention, and improvisation is one thing and having adequate expertise knowledge to bring it to its most efficient use is another.

The problem-solving scenario has taken an all-new shape with the engendering use of technology in our daily lives. Now, we don’t need to remember our doctor’s appointments or client meetings, we have Google to do that for us. If we are commuting to an unknown place, we have Maps to guide, to reach our destination. Not only is this more human-friendly, but more comprehensible and accurate as well. Ability to recall all roads and cities is obviously something that a human brain can never accomplish. Hence, technology. I would rather believe that technology has made us smarter than it has deteriorated our ability to think. It has made us more attentive, pragmatic and proactive. We are learning new bits here and there and this is ultimately boosting our level of confidence, and self-confidence is, of course, one of the most vital keys to survival in this competitive world. Let us thank technology for bringing ease, satisfaction, and happiness to our lives and look forward to making the best use of it for the common good.