Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.Write a response in which you di

Company management should conduct monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Well, I somewhat agree with the statement given above. Every policy that is shaped has its own pros and cons. This policy too has its own merits and demerits when we perceived from an employee's mind and when perceived from and employer's mind. Let's take a look at both one by one.

First, let's talk about the cons. Without a doubt, such a policy is likely to create fidelity issues within a company. The employee might feel that the employer has no trust on his ways of working and hence lead to non-compliant activities. Moreover, if the emails will be monitored regularly, that will be a clear breach of one's personal space. The employee might feel that the company doesn't not hold any right to probe into his personal space and monitor what is taking place in his personal and professional space.

When an employee joins any firm/company, along with hard work and dedication, he gives perseverance, trust and integrity to his employer. And if seen from a broader prospect, that this is just enough for a company to maintain the same trust and bond over time with his employees. They should not be intimidated while working that their emails and data is being continually monitored. Hence, many employees might feel that routine monitoring of all their e-mails would not be a decent idea to deal with the clutter. Rather some better ways can be thought of to help employees save time and system capacity.

Company policies should be drafted keeping in mind the interests of both the employee as well as the employer. No set of policies should try to probe into one's personal space and violate personal security. An employee should be free to access his resources and work as per his will. But we need to discover another very important aspect of routine monitoring of emails. Let's delve a little deeper into the pros.

In today's scenario, cybersecurity has become a major concern and companies don't want to risk their most confidential information and data. For instance, there are umpteen cases where employees systems tend to become prey to the malicious attacks by the cyber hackers. Thus, non-trivial information is lost in a jiffy. These days companies have become really strict when it comes to dealing with system security. Thus, when seen from a point of overall security of the company, monitoring of emails looks like a vital practice to be brought into practice. This will not only help determine the most vulnerable systems amongst all the employees but also helo in protecting the company from lawsuits. Its always said Prevention is better than cure. Hence, this policy will definitely bring better results.

Apart from the above merits, I also strongly feel that routine monitoring of the emails will help to maintain the system capacity. The unwanted and malicious clutter will be cleared off regularly and only the desired information would be retained. Moreover, such monitoring will also help to save resources like time, employees will not have to waste time in dealing with the unwanted information stored and will jump directly to the relevant one.

Hence clearly sucha a policy is likely to be beneficial to both the employees as well as the employer alike.