A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys

The Editor of this scientific journal claims that the study in which eighteen rhesus monkeys were examined provides a picture as to how birth order is directly related to an individual’s level of stimulation. As per the study, the firstborn monkeys produced double the amount of cortisol hormone than their younger siblings in stimulating conditions which are responsible for increased activity levels in their bodies. Also, the study claims that a similar trend is observed in firstborn humans who tend to have higher levels of cortisol than their siblings in stimulating situations. Another demonstration made by the study is in the context of the mother monkeys. It states that the first time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than the ones who have had a chance to be a mother before. Although the argument brings forward a lot of considerable points, there are certain alternative queries which need to be addressed before any such conclusions can be drawn from the argument above. Let’s discuss them in detail.

The study was done over a total of eighteen rhesus monkeys. The argument fails to demonstrate what was the exact number of mother monkeys, first born monkeys and other monkeys with a different birth order. It is important to know the proportion of first-born monkeys before drawing conclusions about their behavioral patterns. Also, the study was conducted only on rhesus monkeys, what about the other species, do other species of the monkey race too have the same implications? The study discusses the cortisol content for first-born monkeys, without shedding light on whether the comparison is done with the second-born monkeys or any other birth order? And what is the trend in the levels of cortisol as one moves from one birth order to another?

Moving on, the study has put forward an unsatisfactory analogy between first-born monkeys and first born humans? How is this conclusion drawn? What were the parameters or common traits are taken into consideration when such an analogy was declared? Isn’t the functioning of a monkey’s body and a human body different in various aspects? Hence, clear demarcation of the characteristics is must to make such an argument.

Although the editor has given a fair shot in showcasing his idea about the study of the rhesus monkeys and their behavioral patterns in stimulating situations, the above argument is still far from a concrete conclusion. There is definitely a need to provide substantial explanation and a better understanding to the questions that have been raised above in contrast to argument claimed by the editor.