A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. First born humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring.

Through this argument, the editor wants to establish a relation between firstborn and the release of the hormone cortisol. There can be other plausible explanations which we need to take into account to judge the soundness of the argument.

Firstly, the editor talks about how the firstborn show higher cortisol activity than their younger siblings. The above picture can also be explained by the age difference between siblings, the eldest one being more cognitive than the rest. This can explain the increased activity level in presence of an unfamiliar monkey because due to their higher cognitive ability they are able to sense the possible danger. Same is the case with return of a parent after an absence, the older one expects some kind of presents to be brought by them.

Secondly, higher cortisol can also be attributed to the body size. If cortisol is proportional to the body size, one who is most grown-up is expected to have higher cortisol. Hence we cannot gain any substantial information by comparing the cortisol level of siblings who are in different age phase.

Thirdly, if presence of certain genes affect cortisol production and the in the 18 monkeys used for the purpose of research these genes were present in the firstborn as compared to other siblings. Also, both the subjects involved in this research are primates(monkeys and humans) that’s why a proper study has to be done for other animal groups.

Fourthly, in the case of first-time mother the higher cortisol can be attributed to the nervousness or excitement which can be absent in the case of mothers who had several offspring because they might have been busy in taking care of the children rather than feeling nervous or because they have gone through this phase before and are pretty confident this time.

Finally, there is not enough evidence to support the argument presented by the editor. His reasoning can also be validated by other factors which he had not mentioned in the letter. Also, there is a lack of information regarding the nature of the monkeys used in the studies, such as their age, gender etc. Until and unless these details are not available we cannot testify to the points presented by the editor.