Claim: The emergence of the online "blogosphere" has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.

Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

Technology in last 50 years or so has experienced a tremendous boom. The availability and ease of use of internet facilities has connected the world and has provided a platform for the people to express their opinions to the global masses. One such platform is online blogs, where people write their thoughts on various topics ranging from politics to entertainment. Most of the modern technology critics support the claim given, I however do not completely agree with the claim as well as the reason presented.

Firstly, before the IT revolution the only source for common people to access information regarding the political happenings in the country were newspapers and as we all know how easily unaware population can be fooled by the falsified information present in the newspapers. Many of the political activists found it difficult to publish their opinions in the paper because of they were aimed at a certain party or institution in power. However, with the help of the internet they no longer need to print their opinions to reach to a wide audience, they can easily use the facilities provide by the online blogs where there are, little to no restrictions on the content of the opinion.

Secondly, many of these blog websites provide the author with a feature to remain anonymous. By exercising this right, inside agents can freely express their discontent and provide information regarding wrongdoings of a major person or party in power. However, on the other hand, some kind of restrictions must be placed on these online blogs as by spreading fallacious information without any strong basis or evidence can be disastrous for the reputation of the concerned entity or group. The websites must ask for concrete evidence for the claims made by the author before publishing his/her opinion online.

Finally, I would like to conclude by stating that online blogosphere has not weakened the quality of political discourse rather strengthened it, however, there should be some verification of the content published online, it should be truthful and supported by proper proofs.