The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

It’s in human nature to celebrate the extraordinary achievements of great historical figures. The brilliance of an individual can be attested to the fact that if his actions or creations are still concordant with the present generation. One can not correctly determine an individual’s greatness from his contemporaries because of their bias and nearsightedness of his work. In other words, history only can decide the greatness of an individual. However, in case of sports and science, the above argument is belied, as great athletes or groundbreaking inventions are avidly recognized by their contemporaries.

Firstly, I would like to discuss great politicians and authors who didn’t receive apposite fame during the time they were alive. For example, consider the former Indian prime minister Mr. Atal Bihari Vajpayee, who at that time was widely criticised by the opposition members for his reckless decision to make nuclear bombs violating the restraint placed on India. However, at present, he is considered as one of the most successful prime minister of India whose policies brought a reforming change in the thinking of the youth of the country. Not only that, many of the policies instituted by him helped the following government to further increase the economic growth of India. This example serves as a proof that contemporaries due to their affiliation to the opposite side can never truly decide virtuosity of an individual.

Talking about authors especially female authors, it’s clearly evident that in the past they faced severe abhor from the male authors. Most of the female author's stories were rejected by the publishing houses. Take the example of famous crime fiction writer Agatha Christie who wrote her first novel before first world war, found no publisher until the late 1920’s. Her work was severely criticised by many male authors who were dismissive of the detective fiction genre. Contrastingly, Agatha Christie’s novels today serve as a major source of inspiration for various television and movie crime series.

Secondly, the greatness of an athlete or a scientist can only be decided by their contemporary. Take, for example, famous Indian cricketer Sunil Gavaskar, he stopped playing cricket internationally in the late 1980s, however, he is still regarded as one of the geniuses of the sports. Why?, because Vivian Richard(another great from that era) admitted that he is his greatest nemesis. A similar argument can also be applied to the scientist field, the works of Albert Einstein, Thomas Edison, Nikolas Tesla were widely appreciated by the scientist community and became a stepping stone for further inventions like the radio, television etc.

To conclude of the topic I can safely say that greatness of an individual can be judged by their contemporaries if they are not biased and completely candid in their opinion otherwise, time is the best judge of them all.